Okay I have been way off this year.  So today I sat down and went through some of the images from around the web i have in my inspiration folder.  I use them to write little drabbles or flash fictions when I am down.  And as I am down enough to be in tears today for no real good reason it was definitely time to pull out some images and write something for each of them.  Now i have hundreds of images but I just pulled out a handful today and put words to them.  Some are actual drabbles, those little exactly 100 word story bits but others are more flash fiction.  Five minute tales that are all under 150 words.  So I hope you like them folks.  I will probably do more of them and kick myself out of the slump i am in.

People of Scraps By Lisa Williamson They live among us, though you wouldn’t know it.  Using the scraps of the modern world to keep themselves alive.  A discarded bit of wrapper becoming a tent, a torn piece of your shirt becomes clothing for them.  In the cold and cruel world, the place were no matter how big you are you can die, these beings find the simple comforts.   So go ahead, toss that cigarette on the ground.  Did you stamp it out?  Well don’t worry too much if you are in the city.  One of the tiny, lost souls will use it to stay warm.  What you don’t believe me?  Try looking.  I bet you will see them, hiding in the shadows. (not a drabble)

People of Scraps
By Lisa Williamson
They live among us, though you wouldn’t know it. Using the scraps of the modern world to keep themselves alive. A discarded bit of wrapper becoming a tent, a torn piece of your shirt becomes clothing for them. In the cold and cruel world, the place were no matter how big you are you can die, these beings find the simple comforts.
So go ahead, toss that cigarette on the ground. Did you stamp it out? Well don’t worry too much if you are in the city. One of the tiny, lost souls will use it to stay warm. What you don’t believe me? Try looking. I bet you will see them, hiding in the shadows.
(not a drabble)

The Girl with the wheel barrel By Lisa Williamson Everyday she works in your garden but do you see her?  Do you see the tiny girl with the wheel barrel pushing it filled with weeds?  Well I do.  She is a lovely little thing, doing her best to make your garden look as it should.  You say she is just a statue but do you really see?  When you aren’t watching, she pinches off the insects, pulls out the weeds and carts them away.  Every morning before the sun truly rises, she is out there working, making your walkway as pretty as can be.  Give her your thanks.  Even if she can’t hear you in the day. (not a drabble)

The Girl with the wheel barrel
By Lisa Williamson
Everyday she works in your garden but do you see her? Do you see the tiny girl with the wheel barrel pushing it filled with weeds? Well I do. She is a lovely little thing, doing her best to make your garden look as it should. You say she is just a statue but do you really see? When you aren’t watching, she pinches off the insects, pulls out the weeds and carts them away. Every morning before the sun truly rises, she is out there working, making your walkway as pretty as can be. Give her your thanks. Even if she can’t hear you in the day.
(not a drabble)

A simple drink By Lisa Williamson Watch him stretch to get just a taste of the clear water.  So bright and green, reflected in the sweet fluid, a simple creature that sees you not but you can see him.  Soon he will spin a blanket and sleep away a transformation.  Will he be more beautiful than he is right now?  I think maybe not for this is beauty in the simplest of forms.  The bright color blends so well with the new leaves of spring but here by the creek he is just a sign of something, something called hope.  Hope that soon summer will come.

A simple drink
By Lisa Williamson
Watch him stretch to get just a taste of the clear water. So bright and green, reflected in the sweet fluid, a simple creature that sees you not but you can see him. Soon he will spin a blanket and sleep away a transformation. Will he be more beautiful than he is right now? I think maybe not for this is beauty in the simplest of forms. The bright color blends so well with the new leaves of spring but here by the creek he is just a sign of something, something called hope. Hope that soon summer will come.

Wounded and wild By Lisa Williasmon He stands they before you, long hair spilling down like moonlight on skin firm.  His  eyes look deep into your soul and you don’t care.  There is a secret there between you, one that you are afraid to let be seen.  All you know is you want to lean forward, to caress those lips with your own and run your fingers over the scars on his skin, soothing him.  Will he let you or will he strike?  Can you sooth the beast that peeks out of those eyes or will it strike you and drain you of heart’s blood?  Take a deep breath beloved for you will never know if you don’t try it. (not a drabble)

Wounded and wild
By Lisa Williasmon
He stands they before you, long hair spilling down like moonlight on skin firm. His eyes look deep into your soul and you don’t care. There is a secret there between you, one that you are afraid to let be seen. All you know is you want to lean forward, to caress those lips with your own and run your fingers over the scars on his skin, soothing him. Will he let you or will he strike? Can you sooth the beast that peeks out of those eyes or will it strike you and drain you of heart’s blood? Take a deep breath beloved for you will never know if you don’t try it.
(not a drabble)

Two friends, the morning after By Lisa Williamson “I tell you she said if you come home she will forgive you.” “But I did nothing wrong.” The crow rolled his eyes at his friend.  “Look if you want to stay a horse then fine but I am going home.  She said either way she will change me back.” The stallion shook his mane and then nodded.  “Yeah I guess maybe I should go apologize.” “You got that right, buddy.” “How was I to know she was a witch?” The crow took off and called back over his shoulder.  “Maybe you shouldn’t have called her a cow either way, buddy.  You know ladies don’t like to talk about their weight!”

Two friends, the morning after
By Lisa Williamson
“I tell you she said if you come home she will forgive you.”
“But I did nothing wrong.”
The crow rolled his eyes at his friend. “Look if you want to stay a horse then fine but I am going home. She said either way she will change me back.”
The stallion shook his mane and then nodded. “Yeah I guess maybe I should go apologize.”
“You got that right, buddy.”
“How was I to know she was a witch?”
The crow took off and called back over his shoulder. “Maybe you shouldn’t have called her a cow either way, buddy. You know ladies don’t like to talk about their weight!”

Dreams on the Wind By Lisa Williamson I sat beneath the tree, watching dreams drift by.  Crystalline globes filled with images that never have been but just might be.  Watched them float on the unfelt breeze, moving toward those who needed them.  Simple desires and wild flights of fancy filled them, each with a destination.  No longer held in the boughs of my tree, they leave this place, going places I will never be.  I wonder if maybe if I lie down and dream, will I join them in a new world.  I wonder if I really want to.  I can’t decide so I sit and watch.

Dreams on the Wind
By Lisa Williamson
I sat beneath the tree, watching dreams drift by. Crystalline globes filled with images that never have been but just might be. Watched them float on the unfelt breeze, moving toward those who needed them. Simple desires and wild flights of fancy filled them, each with a destination. No longer held in the boughs of my tree, they leave this place, going places I will never be. I wonder if maybe if I lie down and dream, will I join them in a new world. I wonder if I really want to. I can’t decide so I sit and watch.

Forever caught By Lisa Williamson Slowly, oh so slowly I move toward you.  Our lips are almost touching.  Why can’t I go that last tiny bit?  Why don’t you?  We are frozen here, just a breath apart and longing fills me, does it fill you?  How long have we stayed frozen like this?  Just a breath away from the thing we both desire. Can’t you just move that final inch and give in to what we both need?  How long must I wait?  How long has it been?  I feel like we have been here forever.  Could it be we have? Beloved are we alive?

Forever caught
By Lisa Williamson
Slowly, oh so slowly I move toward you. Our lips are almost touching. Why can’t I go that last tiny bit? Why don’t you? We are frozen here, just a breath apart and longing fills me, does it fill you? How long have we stayed frozen like this? Just a breath away from the thing we both desire. Can’t you just move that final inch and give in to what we both need? How long must I wait? How long has it been? I feel like we have been here forever. Could it be we have? Beloved are we alive?

Yes!  It really is! By Lisa Williamson As he opened his eyes and stretched in his little home his nose twitched.  What was this?  Was it finally time to wake up?  He scrabbled forward and poked his nose out into the air.  Yes!  He scrabbled forward, his whiskers quivering with joy.  The warmth had returned, the grass had grown back.  He scampered and danced, climbing up the stalks and pulling the blossom to his nose.  The year and turned and spring had come.  The sweet smell of the flowers made him giggle. The birds nodded with a smile in their eyes. It was really springtime once more

Yes! It really is!
By Lisa Williamson
As he opened his eyes and stretched in his little home his nose twitched. What was this? Was it finally time to wake up? He scrabbled forward and poked his nose out into the air. Yes! He scrabbled forward, his whiskers quivering with joy. The warmth had returned, the grass had grown back.
He scampered and danced, climbing up the stalks and pulling the blossom to his nose. The year and turned and spring had come. The sweet smell of the flowers made him giggle. The birds nodded with a smile in their eyes. It was really springtime once more

A New Day By Lisa Williamson Walking slowly she thought of the day to come.  She had finally done it.  Had took that leap into the unknown and today was the beginning of a new day.  No more would she hide in the shadows, afraid of her own power.  No more the shrinking violet, the wallflower. No today she would let the world hear her voice, see her face and today they would understand that each and every word was her very own.  Walking into the light of day she would begin the first day of the rest of her life.  Proud and free, forever more.

A New Day
By Lisa Williamson
Walking slowly she thought of the day to come. She had finally done it. Had took that leap into the unknown and today was the beginning of a new day. No more would she hide in the shadows, afraid of her own power. No more the shrinking violet, the wallflower. No today she would let the world hear her voice, see her face and today they would understand that each and every word was her very own. Walking into the light of day she would begin the first day of the rest of her life. Proud and free, forever more.

