After a year of writing mostly fantasy tales I decided it was time to switch over to a science fiction tale. Now of course it won’t be just science fiction. There are some mild fantasy elements and some erotic scenes. Yup I did it, I put some sex into my science fiction. Whether those scenes will make it through the final cut I have no idea.

Switch my mindset was not as easy as it could be. I took off a day or so after I released To Save Face or Family and then dove into editing what I had of Escape. One of the nice things about having a computer is that a lot of my old story ideas are safely stored and available when I want to work on them.

This tale was started about five years ago but well I moved to Canada and life got busy in a good way. As I read through what I had written I realized that I have a universe started that could work for a series of interconnected stories. Yup another series. Seems like I can’t stay away from them can I?

In fact the other story I plan on working on is The Price of Freedom which is set in the same universe as Escape. What will tie them together will be the League. I describe them like this in the opening of Escape:

The League grew out of a need. Runaway slaves, the traveling folk and those who had no power needed a voice. The League was formed much like the Rangers of the old west on the mother planet. A group of men and women who could be relied on to protect those who needed protection and who had the power to make the Masters pay for their crimes. In the thousand years since mankind left Mother Earth, the League has defended and protected humanity, be they dirt-sider, station rat, or ship-born, the League protects and defends. They have kept the depredations of the Masters to a small sector of human controlled worlds, they continue to do so today.

So that will be fun to write. I have a character in mind who will be a common thread in the two stories all ready mentioned. A League Hunter.

Now how about a excerpt from the opening of my newest tale? I haven’t given excerpts much lately so I thought why not?

***

Inside Shankman’s rest a voice swelled and captured the attention of those passing by. Full and masculine, it pulled people in and stirred things deep inside hearts that were locked down. He sang of sex and love and things that the Masters had outlawed. The listeners paired off and in smoky corners, broke the laws of the Masters by touching and caressing those not approved. His song was wild and rhythmic, full of power and need. The audience that wasn’t pairing off were all surrounding the stage where the tall, dark haired young man sang. Dressed in leather and silk, he mesmerized and teased. Both men and women looked at him like he was fresh meat. His song soared as he made love to the audience, giving them a light to their dark days and release. His eyes jumped from person to person, seeming to stroke them and tease them, but in reality searching for one person. He hid his worry and poured out more power into his words.

Dodging to the left, Caro ran faster, her sleek dancers body giving her the strength and stamina to stay ahead of her pursuers. The crowds parted as the Sweepers passed by. On Grail station, the Sweepers could take whom they wished and no one wanted to catch their eye. Most would aid the Sweepers, and as they saw them chasing the young dancer hands reached out to stop her. Caro slid to the side avoiding the merchant, then dropped down and slid under the arms that tried to catch her. She was almost to her destination. If she could make it to the other side of the concourse, she could hide from them in one of the many cubbies she had found. She spun and leapt and the hands slid away. Just a few hundred feet and she would be free and than she could get word to Adam. She made it to just outside the Shankman’s rest before she was hit with a tangle web. Crashing to the ground, she fought like a wild animal, cursing the men around her. “You damn cowards! Fight them, don’t let them take…” The nearest Sweeper tapped her shoulder with a stun rod causing her to scream in pain.

Just as he finished up his set, Adam heard the commotion outside. Grabbing up his bag from the side of the stage, he eased his way out of the reach of the fans and onto the concourse in time to hear the scream. His head whipped about as he recognized the voice begging for help. He pushed through the crowd and grabbed the rod before it could hit her again. The Sweeper stared at him for a long minute before reaching for his gun. Adam spun the rod and rammed it into the belly of the Sweeper. The creature let out a howl and collapsed to the amazement of the crowd. While everyone was stunned, he quickly scooped up the web-bound woman and shouldered his way past the crowd. For the first time one of the dreaded Sweepers was finding out just how their victims felt as the crowd roared and tore it apart.

***

Yeah this needs editing for things like commas but it gives you an idea how this novel starts. I want this to start out running and keep going. While I am more used to writing fantasy, I do know the things that make a good soft science fiction novel. You need star ships, aliens and of course action. I am not going to try to write something with a lot of science behind it because I am not a scientist. If you want more science than fiction then you need to go read the books of some of my esteemed indie friends who write find tales filled with science.

