it is June 1st, the sun is shinning, the music is playing and I thoght how about sharing some flash fictions of various lengths with you my loyal readers?

First a dribble..that is a short of only 50 words (not counting title of course)

***

Gentle Morning

Water droplets glisten on the down turned petals of sapphire blue. The sun is cupped gently by one of those blossoms and I watch as it rises like a phoenix from the ashes. The sky, shades of umber, cinnabar and gold, slowly brightening once more as night becomes day again.

***

Next drabble, those tales of exactly 100 words

***

Let’s Play!

Let’s go out and play today, fun to be had on this summer day for everyone and everything. Whoops, it is raining out. Well that is okay. It might be raining, it might be cloudy, but I don’t care. I have my flower and the sun shines from deep inside of me. Come on everyone, lets go out and play. Bring your flowers and bring your smiles. For raindrops are just nature’s tears as she laughs at our bright antics today. Play with me my friends. Pick up your flower and play. Won’t you join me outside today and play?

***

Now how about the shortest of the short? A hint fiction…these are only 25 words

***

Summer dawn

Sun rising, shades of red, yellow and white, over the sea. Clouds scuttle off, as if burned by light. Awake my child from your dreams.

***

A micro fiction runs between the length of a drabble and a dribble…and here you go

***

Hiding in the Tomatoes

I slipped between the round green bulbs, seeking the coolness of the shade they cast. The summer has been hot and I am but a little frog. This place is safe from hunters and water is sprayed here on a schedule that intrigues me. The others sit by the drying ponds, gasping as the water they need to stay alive dries up. Me, I have found the perfect place to rest and to grow. Water, food and shade, what else could a frog ask for?

***

And finally a quickie fiction. These generally come in over 100 words but under 500, enjoy

***

Marcus, the Brave

Mother said I couldn’t do it, or was it shouldn’t do it? But I had to try, had to scurry out of the den she kept me in and feel the wind in my fur. Climbing the stalk was a bit scary, it swayed with each placement of my paw, but I made it. I am at the top. Below my paws are the seed pods that grandmother said were the sweetest and above me is the sky. There is no hawk, no owl, looming out of the cloudless sky to snag me from my perch. For this one glorious moment I am free of fear, free of doubt and free to be more than the mouse of my birth. I am Marcus, the Brave, the only mouse to climb the stalk and tell the tale.

